1. Times of India Social Impact Award 2012

Karuna Trust was awarded the Times of India Social Impact Award 2012 under the Health-NGO category by the Times Group recognizing the zealous efforts of the Trust in serving the underserved and the poor. The award was presented in the presence of the Hon’ble President of India at New Delhi on 28 Jan 2013.

2. National Accreditation for Quality to Gumballi Primary Health Centre

Karuna Trust managed Primary Health Centre at Gumballi has got national accreditation by National Accreditation Board for Hospitals and Healthcare Providers (NABH) which is a constituent board of Quality Council of India. This has set a benchmark for quality service delivery for all our PHCs. This is the only PHC in the country to be NABH accredited after Gujarat.


          Individual Awards of Dr. H. Sudarshan

The work of Karuna Trust and Dr. H. Sudarshan has been recognized not only by the communities they serve but also by several state, national and international fora.

  • BC Roy Memorial Award, Indian Science Monitor  (2013)

  • Swami Vivekananda Award  – Ramakrishna Mission, New Delhi  ( 2012 )

  • Citizen Extraordinaire Award -Rotary Club of Bangalore (2011)

  • Mahaveer Ahimsa Prashasthi -Mahaveer Seva Sansthan, Mysore (2011)

  • Distinguished Alumnus Award -Bangalore Medical College  (2011)

  • Swasthya Bharat Samman -Zee news (2011)

  • Pride of Karnataka (2011)

  • The PHFI Outstanding Achievement Award– Public Health Foundation of India (2009)

  • Sagar Award for Social Service (2009)

  • Vivekananda Medal– Ramakrishna Mission (2004)

  • Devaraj Urs Award– Govt. of Karnataka (2003)

  • Krishnadevaraya Award (2002)

  • Human Rights Award (2001)

  • Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar award for VGKK– Govt. of Karnataka (2002)

  • Mahaveer Award (2001)

  • Padmashree (2000)

  • Basava Shree Award (1999)

  • Karnataka Jyothi Award (1997)

  • International Distinguished Physician– American Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (1995)

  • Dr. Pinnamaneni & Seethadevi Foundation Award (1995)

  • Right Livelihood Award or The Alternate Nobel Prize– Right Livelihood Award Foundation, Sweden (1994)

  • Karnataka State Award for Best Child Welfare Organization for VGKK (1994)

  • Environment Award– Govt. of Karnataka (1992)

  • Dr. B. R. Ambedkar Centenary Award – Govt. of Karnataka (1992)

  • Vivekananda Seva Puraskar (1991)

  • Rajyothsava State Award– Govt. of Karnataka (1984)